Tuesday, October 18, 2011

CanWEA announces wind energy award winners at Annual Conference

At its gala Awards Banquet in Vancouver, British Columbia, the Canadian Wind Energy Association (CanWEA) recognized organizations and individuals who have worked tirelessly to advance the Canadian wind energy industry towards a record year of growth in 2011. The following awards were presented:

Individual Leadership Award - First awarded in 2003, to the individual who has, through their own efforts, significantly advanced the wind energy industry in Canada. Award winner: Richard Legault (President of Windev Corporation) for his dedication to the industry through his unsurpassed experience in assessing the certainty of energy yields from wind for projects in the Canadian context.

Group Leadership Award - First awarded in 2001, this award recognizes the government, corporation or non-profit organization that has contributed significantly to the advancement of wind energy in Canada. Award winner: Peace Energy Cooperative and its Directors for their ability to recognize the tremendous opportunities that exist for British Columbians in renewable energy sources.

R.J. Templin Award - First awarded in 1985, in recognition of any individual or organization who has undertaken scientific, technical, engineering or policy work that has significantly advanced the wind energy industry in Canada. Award winner: Wind Energy Institute of Canada (WEICAN), for advances made in the development of wind energy across Canada through research, testing, training, and collaboration - recipient Mr. Scott Harper.

Friend of Wind Award – Awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions made by individuals or groups in advancing awareness of the benefits of wind energy at the community level. Award winner: Jutta Splettstoesser, Kincardine farmer, mother, and tireless supporter of wind energy in Ontario communities through Friends of Wind Ontario.


1 comment:

  1. You might qualify for a new solar program.
    Determine if you qualify now!